Ama motocross

AMA pro motocross.

2010 AMA Motocross and AMA Supercross Facts.

ama motocross motocross racing

The 2010 rendition of the AMA Motorcross is regarded as one of the best ever, simply because of the rise in popularity that this season witnessed.

As per statistics, the 2010 AMA Motocross saw domestic viewership of over five million viewers. In fact, one of the world's most prestigious events was even provided to an international audience with 207 million homes receiving live or delayed feeds across 80 countries.

Some countries that topped the viewership charts include Brazil, Australia and various countries in Europe.

Moreover, there were even live feeds on the internet of the various events of the championship that many feel is the crème de la crème of the global motorcycle riding circuit. The following are some statistical highlights of the 2010 season.

1. The 2010 season saw, for the first time in AMA history, a rookie rider win both the AMA Motocross and AMA Supercross. This was Ryan Dungey, who was a 450 class debutant.

2. Notably, since 2009 Ryan Dungey has won all four championships. Ryan Dungey continued his record breaking spree by being the youngest rider to win all four AMA championships and, in fact, being the only rider to win all four ever.

3. The points tally at the end of the season for the AMA 450 class was Ryan Dungey at 543, Brett Metcalfe at 398, Andrew Short at 393, Ben Townsley at 321 and Mike Alessi at 314 with five others following.

4. Ryan Dungey ended up with a finish of 543 points which is a record in the history of the AMA Motocross.

5. Brett Metcalfe and Nick Wey are two riders who managed to score points in all 24 motos. Notably, these two are the only two 450 class riders to have achieved this feat.

Ama national motocross facts.

ama motocross schedule ama motocross results

6. The 2010 season also saw the oldest ever winner with Kevin Windham winning at Steel City.

7. The 250 class title was won by Trey Canard who had to cover up a deficit of 55 points in the second half of the season to get his win.

8. The rookie of the year award went to Dean Wilson who recorded two overall wins and a final fourth championship result in the 250 class.

9. One of the most entertaining sequences of the 2010 season was Ashley Fiolek's holeshots achievement. She managed an unbelievable 13 from the total of 16 holeshots and had an average finish of 1.9, but still could not claim the title.

10. In terms of the bikes, Suzuki won its tenth ever 450 class championship which means that it has won four of the last six 450 class championships.

11. In terms of holeshots, Andrew Short led the charts with 11 holeshots.

The reason why the 2010 season was one of the most watched AMA Motocross seasons is evident from the various records broken and surprising results mentioned above.

This growth can also be attributed to the partnering of Alli Sports and MX Sports Pro Racing for the operational control of the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship.

Home | Dirt Bikes | Cheap Dirt Bikes | Accessories | Mini Dirt Bikes | Motocross Racing
Motocross Gear | Off Road Bikes | Used Dirt Bikes | Wholesale Dirt Bikes
Honda | Kawasaki | Suzuki | Yamaha

Share this page:
Enjoy this page? Please pay it forward. Here's how...

Would you prefer to share this page with others by linking to it?

  1. Click on the HTML link code below.
  2. Copy and paste it, adding a note of your own, into your blog, a Web page, forums, a blog comment, your Facebook account, or anywhere that someone would find this page valuable.

Site Build It!